Events

« May 2008 »
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

User login

Get your own inworld RSS feeds - free!

Recent comments

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Second Life® is a registered trademark of Linden Lab® , as are the Eye-in-Hand logo®, Hexagon logo™, inSL Cube logo™, Linden™ dollar(s), Linden Lab Hexagon logo™, LindeX™ , Second Life Eye-in-Hand logo®, Second Life Grid™ development platform, Second Life Grid logo™, SL™, SL™ world, SL Grid™, SLurl™, Teen Second Life™, Teen Second Life Eye-in-Hand logo™,TSL™, WindLight®,Your World. Your Imagination.™

Now Who Did ANCAPEX Irk?

Presently, if you go to ANCAPEX.com, it takes you to VSTEX.net.

Of course, VSTEX could not have done this deed. They've issued a release that they are not responsible, but anyone who is into web programming knows that this sort of redirect comes from an Apache Server or .htaccess directive: In English, it's happening on the ANCAPEX.com site. Someone's irked.

Maybe it is simply payback for Ancapex advertising practices inworld.

Whatever it is, I must admit that I do need a new keyboard. There's coffee everywhere, and only after cleaning my monitor and shaking out the keyboard could I write this.

This has to be an inside job, or one heck of a cracker. I probably shouldn't be amused, but there is a certain poetic justice to this that I find... appealing?

Either way, it seems that stock exchanges just got a little more serious and amusing at the same time.

I imagine Intlibber Brautigan is less than happy. Unless he's the one who did it... after all, it's his Second Life name on the WHOIS information for the ANCAPEX.com site.

And no, I didn't do it. If I did, it would redirect to a porn site. And if it redirects to a porn site after this, it wasn't me. My IP address is quite easy to track should I do something naughty...




www.ancapex.com

I just arrived in my office and I got the news of this hijacking. Trying www.ancapex.com from my workplace, I am redirected to... this blog post.

At least now...

Someone is trying to stir up the pot.

Samantha Goldflake - Director

VSTEX Communication and Public Relations
http://www.vstex.net

Now it redirects to ... HERE!

Nobody, now it redirects to this blog posting.

Whoever did that reads you, and has a sense of humor. Or, they hate your keyboard.

--Solomon Canning

Currently, it redirects to this blog :)

I clicked the ancapex link to see what you were talking about, and as I'd never been to either site before, I was expecting to see something other than this site :) But even entering www.ancapex.com directly into the address bar redirects to your previous post about their advertising practices.

Heh.

Someone's having a lot of fun...

Second Life Consultant

hacking any site is a federal wire fraud violation

Whoevers laughing may not be for long.

But...

If it is the owner of the domain, there is no law that applies.

Gotcha.

Second Life Consultant

No kidding NF

What would the owner do press charges against himself.